Put the kettle on!

Grab your teacup, turn up the volume and listen to these great songs.

This music compilation features some of the best new music released in 2009. We kick it off with New Zealand’s comedy duo the Flight of the Conchords, stars of the hilarious hit television series of the same name. Rodrigo and Gabriela show off with a rocking Mexican guitar instrumental.

We have Irish/Czech duo The Swell Season with one of their hit singles from this year. Julian Casablancas starts a set of music with some 80’s inspired dance pop, followed by the newest single from super-band Depeche Mode, while Fiction Family is here channelling their inner Cure. Animal Collective plays some of their incredible experimental music followed by indie band Nickel Eye.

The Wicked Devil remix of Cage the Elephant’s hit Ain’t no rest for the wicked shows up. We also feature two of the best female artists of the year, sweet-voiced Lisa Hannigan and Grammy-nominated Neko Case. The Decemberists present a track from their rock opera The Hazards of Love and the Grammy-nominated Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs set us up for a polished finish by the highly-talented, high priest of all modern music, Matisyahu.

Learn more about these artists by following the links, it won’t stop the music.

Standalone player

Music and tea are connected. Our music series brings you great songs from great artists. Like what you hear? Tell us about it.