Put the kettle on!

Grab your teacup, turn up the volume and listen to these great songs.

This music compilation features some more great songs of 2009 including a modern retrospective by some artists we’ve listened to for years.

We kick it off with Yo La Tengo and Spoon. They are followed by M. Ward, Great Lake Swimmers and Pete Yorn (and actress Scarlett Johannson) with a set of modern Americana rock. Death Cab for Cutie leads off an alt set which includes trance-master Moby followed by the Fleet Foxes. The Monsters of Folk and Jason Isbell (formerly of the Drive-by Truckers) rock us out before we reach back a few years for a set of awesome indie tracks by The Republic Tigers, Bon Iver, and Arcade Fire.

This sets us up for our look back to some great artists of the last 20 years with some new songs released in 2009. Dolores O’riordan starts it out before Zee Avi covers one of Morrissey’s hits, which, of course sets us up for the Moz himself as he Throws his arms around Paris. Legacy band Echo and the Bunnymen also released a new album in 2009, and their style is as relevant as it was back in 1984. We finish up with a great song by Modest Mouse and British supertalent Bat for Lashes.

Standalone player